top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

Thanks for submitting!

DISCOVER PAGE 10 NEWS

All the Latest

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Payton

Auto Show returns to Chicago this summer

Chicago could return to a sense of normalcy this summer, after Governor JB Pritzker and Mayor Lori Lightfoot's announcement to reopen Chicago by July 4th, here’s Tiffany Payton with the latest.


As Mayor Lightfoot and Governor Pritzker announced the Chicago Auto Show will return this summer; Lightfoot also announced the city will be fully reopened by July 4. A full reopening would mean restaurants and bars would no longer have capacity limits.


Getting Chicago fully opened by the July 4 weekend also could mean the return of the Taste of Chicago and the cities popular Air & Water Show.


Many Chicagoans, like Angel Raymond, a senior at DePaul University, wonders what the reopening announcement means for the highly anticipated, 4-day, Lollapalooza concert.


“I have been to Lollapalooza before, 2019 was actually my first year going. I’m not sure if right now is the most appropriate time to bring the festival back. But if they do, I’d love to see how they’re going to ensure our safety, limit capacity, and requirements to wear masks. I’m really open to the idea, if they’re okay with our safety then I’m okay with the festival.”


In the reopening announcement, Lightfoot stated: “We can’t predict the future, but we feel very confident if we continue to follow public health guidance, and people get vaccinated - this summer is going to be very different, but festive.”


Gram Loughead, a student at Illinois State University, shared his thoughts on the reopening.


“I’m really excited about the reopening of the state because I’m not too much of a home person. So, I like to get out, be active, go to the gym, and anything that involves not being in my house. I think I’m looking forward to reopening the state, and I’m pretty happy about it.

Mayor Lightfoot is in talks with big outdoor festival planners. Decisions about major festivals like Lollapalooza are not yet finalized, but Lightfoot said discussions are underway with organizers for Good Day DePaul, I’m Tiffany Payton.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page